Q&A for How to Play Ludo

Return to Full Article

Search
Add New Question
  • Question
    Is a pair of pawns (a double block) can be broken without reaching a star?
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    This answer was written by one of our trained team of researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness.
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    Blocks are only removed if the player moves one of their pieces to break it apart.
  • Question
    Can I move if there are two opposing pawns on one space and I'm moving in doubles/triples?
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    This answer was written by one of our trained team of researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness.
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    If another player has 2 pieces in the same square, you cannot pass or jump over them at all.
  • Question
    If I get a six and then a three, can I jump nine square in a row?
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    This answer was written by one of our trained team of researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness.
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    Yes, you can move the same piece a total of 9 squares or you can split the movement between 2 pieces.
  • Question
    If I didn't capture the opponents pawn, will my pawn go to the start?
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    This answer was written by one of our trained team of researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness.
    wikiHow Staff Editor
    Staff Answer
    You can't share a space with another player's piece, so their pawn will automatically get sent back to their home base.
  • Question
    How do I attack another pawn?
    Community Answer
    You attack another pawn by getting an exact number that lands on top of that pawn.
  • Question
    When an opponent's pawn is at my starting position, can he capture me?
    Community Answer
    No, that position is a safe zone for both you and your opponent.
  • Question
    If I have two pawns and I get the same number to attack my opponent pawn as I can move the other pawn, do I have to attack?
    Community Answer
    You don't have to attack. However, it usually gives you better results, as you delay your opponent from winning.
  • Question
    Can I attack if there are two pawns on one space?
    Community Answer
    If there are two counters in one space, they are called doubles. To capture your opponent's doubles, you have to attack with doubles, or triples. Otherwise, you cannot capture them, or even go ahead.
  • Question
    Can I move into home run without attacking the opposition's pawn?
    Community Answer
    In some games, you can. In others, you might not be able to. Check the rules of your Ludo set or agree to your own set of rules before beginning the game.
  • Question
    What do we do if a piece lands on a pair and it is of the same color?
    Community Answer
    When this happens, it means you made some sort of "wall" and your opponent can't pass unless you want to move one of the two pieces (it's a rule of the game, it's not cheating).
  • Question
    Will you have won the game if you move one of the four pawns before your opponent gets any pawns out of the start circle?
    Community Answer
    You cannot win the game if the opponent does not get any pieces out, as you have to take out one of the opponent's pieces in order to go to the home pocket.
  • Question
    How do I get onto the other person's home run?
    Community Answer
    You can't. You can only get onto your own home run, which is the one corresponding to your piece color.
  • Question
    If you throw a six and cannot move, can you throw again?
    Holly Dounson
    Community Answer
    No, you have to stay where you are.
  • Question
    Are the tiny planes of different colors on my game board important in game play?
    Community Answer
    Yes, they are important since they mark a person's house and quarter of the board. They are used to indicate houses and to show players how to navigate around the board.
  • Question
    Can I kill my opponent's single pawn with my double pawn? His pawn is two spaces ahead of me. Can I throw a four and kill his single pawn using my double pawn?
    Community Answer
    The rules may vary, but it is usually agreed that doubles are considered different from singles and therefore require another double to kill them. The same applies to singles, doubles are different from them and so they can only be killed by singles. Also, while rules may vary, if you have a double, then turns are counted individually. Some take this to mean that doubles cannot move as one and must be played as singles, while others take this to mean the roll is divided. If you roll a 2,4, or 6, then each piece takes its own part, so a double can only move half of the required number. Rolling a 2 means a double moves 1, a 4 means 2 and so on.
  • Question
    Last pawn and only six is required, and player rolls 6 - can he move the pawn because he can't move 6 chance?
    Holly Dounson
    Community Answer
    Yes, he can. It is the same when all the pawns are out and you roll a six. Choose the player that you want to move ahead six.
  • Question
    What if I haven't hit on opponent's pawn and reached home entrance? Can I go in, or do I have to stay there?
    Aliza Shah
    Community Answer
    It doesn't matter whether you have hit your opponent's pawn; if you have reached home entrance, you can indeed go in.
  • Question
    If I have two pieces together, can I move them together also if I roll any of the numbers?
    Community Answer
    No, you can only move one of your piece at time.
  • Question
    Is it okay to use a quiz to resolve capture?
    Community Answer
    No, that is not how you traditionally play Ludo, although you can be creative and change the game to suit you and your friends' needs.
  • Question
    What happens if all four pieces get on the same space?
    Ryan Dong
    Community Answer
    Then it will become a Ludo hop star piece and it can move four times a turn but must go back 10 spaces at the end of each turn.
  • Question
    Can I “split” a move between two pawns? For example, if I roll a 6, can I move one of my pawns 2 spaces and another 4 so as to “capture” another player's pawn?
    Community Answer
    No, you cannot. One roll can be used on only one pawn. If you roll a six, then only one pawn will move six spaces.
  • Question
    Can a player change the die in the middle of the game if the game is using only one die?
    Community Answer
    No, you cannot do that.
  • Question
    If I have a six, should I release a pawn? Or can I play with a released pawn?
    Community Answer
    It is your choice to either release a pawn or play with a released pawn; however, it is recommended that you release a pawn so that you have multiple options of playing in the next turns.
  • Question
    If I need only 1 space to reach home and I roll a 6, do I get another turn?
    Community Answer
    You do not get another turn because rolling a 6 is too high to move just one space.
  • Question
    Doesn't Ludo need 2 dice?
    Community Answer
    You can play with one die or as many as four dice.
  • Question
    How can you pass a square that is blocked by your opponent?
    Community Answer
    It's impossible to pass a square blocked by the opponent. You have to wait until the square is not blocked.
  • Question
    How do I block other players in Ludo?
    Sharon Urquiaga
    Community Answer
    In Ludo, you can block other players by creating a blockade with your pieces. You need two of your pieces on the same square to form a blockade, preventing others from passing through. Other players cannot land on the blocked square or move past it, but they can move around it with the right roll. Strategically position your pieces in high-traffic areas and plan your moves based on opponents' positions to maximize blockade effectiveness.
  • Question
    Is coaching allowed during a game of Ludo?
    Sharon Urquiaga
    Community Answer
    In Ludo, coaching can vary based on house rules, as the official rules do not specifically address this. Many casual players use house rules that may allow for coaching, especially in family games where the focus is on fun and teaching new players.
  • Question
    Can a double kill another double?
    Sharon Urquiaga
    Community Answer
    A double does not kill another double. You can only send an opponent's piece back to their base by landing on it with one of your own pieces. Doubles do not create an exception to this rule; they simply grant extra turns.
  • Question
    If I roll a 6 and a 4 and have one piece, can I move 4 spaces to send the opponent to their home base and then play the 6?
    Booklover133534
    Community Answer
    No, you have to play both dice at the same time. If this doesn't work for you, then you can only play with one die.
Ask a Question

      Return to Full Article